Surgeons performing an operation


Welcome to Wright State Physicians Department of Surgery. Our physicians and staff are committed to providing you with the highest quality care and ensuring your experience is as pleasant as possible.

Our board-certified and fellowship-trained surgeons have devoted years to rigorous training in a broad range of specialties. This advanced training ensures you will receive the best care possible from surgeons with extensive experience in the latest techniques. As faculty at the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine, our physicians stay on the leading edge of medicine as they train the next generation of physicians.

Our surgeons are accepting new patients and will see you immediately, usually within 48 hours of the initial call or referral. Our office hours are Monday through Thursday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Friday 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. Our team of dedicated health care professionals is available to address your questions 24 hours a day, seven days a week. We look forward to caring for you.

We have several office locations throughout the Greater Dayton area and accept most insurance plans. Contact information for specific surgeons or specialty practices are found under Divisions below or on individual physician pages on this site. In addition, you can contact any of our surgeons through the main surgery office phone (937) 208-2552.

New patients can save time by downloading and filling out a Patient Registration Form. Please bring the completed form with you on the day of your appointment. You may also want to download and complete the following forms:


General Surgery
Linda M. Barney, M.D.
Melissa P. Roelle, M.D.
Joon K. Shim, M.D., M.P.H.

Bariatric Surgery
Joon K. Shim, M.D., M.P.H.

Hepatobiliary & Pancreatic Surgery
Minia Hellan, M.D.
James R. Ouellette, D.O.

Liver Cancer Center of Ohio
Rick Brittain, M.D.
Minia Hellan, M.D.
Shannon Kauffman, M.D.
James R. Ouellette, D.O.

Surgical Oncology
Margaret M. Dunn, M.D.
Minia Hellan, M.D.
James R. Ouellette, D.O.
Rebecca M. Tuttle, M.D.

Trauma/Acute Care Surgery
Peter Ekeh, M.D.
Alyssa J. Gans, M.D.
Mary C. McCarthy, M.D.
Gregory R. Semon, D.O.
Kathryn M. Tchorz, M.D.
Mbaga S. Walusimbi, M.D.
Melissa L. Whitmill, M.D.
Randy J. Woods, M.D.

Vascular Surgery
Garietta Falls, M.D.
Kamran A. Jafree, M.B.B.S.
John H. Matsuura, M.D.
Laura A. Peterson, M.D.

Mailing Address:
Wright State Physicians Surgery
Miami Valley Hospital
30 E. Apple St., Suite 5253
Dayton, OH 45409
(937) 208-2552

Phone numbers:

Acute Care, General & Vascular Surgery: (937) 208-2552

Liver Cancer Center: (937) 208-5183

Hepatobiliary/Pancreatic Surgery & Surgical Oncology: (937) 424-2469

Business & Clinical Operations Office: (937) 208-2177